Ca d’Oro (Franchetti Gallery), Venice
Ca' d'Oro, or the Palazzo Santa Sofia as it is correctly known, is located right on the Grand Canal and one of the primary visits for any student group's school trip or study tour to Venice. One of the older palazzi, it has always been known as Ca' d'Oro (golden house) due to the gilt and polychrome external decorations which once adorned its walls.
The Palazzo was built between 1428 and 1430 for the Contarini family, who provided Venice with eight Doges between 1043 and 1676.
The architects of the Ca d'Oro were Giovanni and his son Bartolomeo Bon. The work of these two sculptors and architects epitomises the Gothic style in Venice and they are best known for their work on the Doge's Palace and in particular the Porta della Carta, with its monumental sculpture of the judgement of Solomon.
The museum at the Palace was refurbished and modernised in the 1980's and now houses a fantastic art collection, comprising works by a number of Venetian, Tuscan and Flemish school artists. They also offer a number of splendid bronzes, renaissance sculptures and ceramics.
Contact FHT's expert study trips team for further information and student group entrance prices.