Twinings Museum, London
The charming Twinings Museum is adjacent to their shop on the Strand. The House of Twining was founded by Thomas Twining when he purchased the original Tom's Coffee House at the back of the site in 1706. He then introduced tea and in 1717 opened the Golden Lyon on the site, to sell both tea and coffee.
In 1787 his grandson Richard Twining built the handsome doorway incorporating his Grandfather's Golden Lyon symbol and two Chinese figures. Twinings is believed to be the oldest company to have traded continuously on the same site with the same family since its foundation. Government tax returns do substantiate this claim.
In addition to the Twinings shop is a small museum at the rear, containing tea-related paraphernalia collected over the course of 300 years sales to the public. This free visit is an ideal little filler trip for Hospitality and Catering groups travelling to London.